My Anal (not annual) Dog Visit to the Veterinarian

I have been doing the “butt scootin boogie.”   So I went to my vet today.  Y’all may have experienced this once in a while.  Unfortunately small dogs like me tend to have “scootin” issues more frequently than big dogs, although my vet did tell me she met with a boxer earler today that also had a scootin problem.  For readers that don’t know for sure what I am talking about, “scootin” is a sign that dogs need to have their anal glands checked, and most likely expressed.  Long ago when dogs were wild, they ate a lot of bones,  raw meat and cartilage, which made their stools harder, and helped express these glands when they pooped.  Todays dogs for the most part have a more commercialized diet and thus softer stools.   Mom tried giving me more fiber in my diet-but that didn’t work  for me (darn!). Thus it is very important  for pet parents to keep an eye out for “scootin” signs.  Left unexpressed, these anal glands can become impacted and a more  serious medical procedure may be necessary.    It can be painful if these glands are left unexpressed for too long.  So keep an eye out, and if you see scootin, get to the vet or to a groomer that is experienced.  My Mom always takes me to our vet, because I have an internal expression done, not external, and a vet tech does this procedure.   At the same time, I have my nails checked.  So its a “two-in-one” visit, which I like as I usually have to be carried in as I refuse to walk in on my own.    Take care, and stay in good health my friends.

Tuck the Law Dog

http://wwwgeorgialaw.blogspot.com

http://facebook.com/TuckTheLawDog

http://criminallawyercherokeecobb.com

http://twitter.com/TuckTheLawDog

 

1 Comment

Filed under Dog Health, Dogs, Georgia Dogs, Pets, Rescue Dogs

One response to “My Anal (not annual) Dog Visit to the Veterinarian

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do
    you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

Leave a comment